An attempt at a guide to manufacturing for new players

Post here if you have any strategy tips to share
bdubbs
Level 3 user

An attempt at a guide to manufacturing for new players

Post by bdubbs »

So I've been playing this game for about 6 months and I've put enough time in that I think I have enough understanding to help a new player, so this is my attempt at a guide write up to manufacturing for new players. This game has a steep learning curve from the beginning so if you're a Day 1 player this might not be very helpful, but its more aimed at a player who has already gotten the hang of retailing from seaports, turning a tidy profit and moving into manufacturing. It's worth noting I'll be speaking from a custom game situation where the game starts and what you do is up to you, instead of being directed by a scenario. So without further adieu here is my strategy and opinions on the best way to move into manufacturing.

My early game strategy is to try and get a discount mega store in every city before I move on to manufacturing. There are occasionally situations where you can start the game, open a factory first, turn off internal sales and turn a profit by selling to AI retailers, but this is rare for a few reasons I've identified. The first is seaport products are typically better quality than what you can produce initially which means that retailers will want to sell those first, and the second is it takes time for the AI to build a retail presence which means there just isn't a ton of demand for new products to retail from the beginning of a game.

From my experience the best profits in year 1 and 2 come from retailing the seaport goods. I use those profits to set up new stores and R&D centers which I use to research whichever product class I specialize in.