Primary products easy to sell?

Post here if you have any strategy tips to share
markyears
Level 2 user

Primary products easy to sell?

Post by markyears »

Hey, I am a newbie in this game :mrgreen: After a few games, I find out an interesting phenomenon: at the beginning of the game, usually very "primary" products like meat, milk, eggs have very low quality by local retailers, usually negative rating. This means it is easier for plays to sell these products. Products like computers or cars have very high rating.

Am I right? If so, what is the implication of this? So we are encouraged to start from very basic product? :mrgreen: I'm very curious about the philosophy behind this (If I'm making sense).
Njeroe
Content Contributor
Content Contributor

Re: Primary products easy to sell?

Post by Njeroe »

You can set the import quality in the settings when starting a new game. All products from the Seaports will have a quality that is based on that setting. Setting it to high will provide high quality products and resources. I have not noticed natural resources starting at low quality and imports at high. I do not know if natural resources get affected at all by the settings.

Farms will produce low quality products starting at 30 and going up over time as the level increases you can't influence that yourself except to wait. Natural resources spawn and get a value and you can't change that. These primary ingredients get used in other products and you can influence the quality using R&D. Quality is only one of the ratings used to determine if it sells others being price and brand, each product uses different percentage in each city to determine the overall rating this is the most important figure ofcourse in the end. You are encouraged to use R&D and manufacturing to provide the best rating you can get to sell at the highest possible price without tanking the overall rating. Bigger profit margins is the main goal usually.
bdubbs
Level 3 user