Lay out plans

General discussions and Technical Support for Capitalism II.
AkwaticDudeCity

Lay out plans

Post by AkwaticDudeCity »

I've recently started playing Capitalism 2 again and because I have played a few different games since the last time I played Capitalism 2, I look upon the game differently. I used to make a tidy profit even under high difficulty levels, but could never quite grasp the lay out mechanics. Since I've (re)played some old games like Caesar 3, Zeus and the Guild, I've come up with flawless strategies that maximise my profits in those games. However, for Capitalism 2 I have no such strategy.
I've done the tutorial missions again and I can easily reach the objectives. The last time I played Capitalism 2, a few years ago, I went for a strategy focusing on computer stores with my edge being high quality CPU's and that worked just fine. So yesterday I have started again and this time I studied the numbers more in depth like I would for the other aforementioned games and I am no longer satisfied with my old way of doing things. I don't think the generic lay outs are the most efficient possible set ups. I've let the game run for a while on highest speed and I've noticed some weird fluctuations in my factories and in my stores.
It turns out the purchasing units in the factories aren't utilised at 100% most of the time, while the manufacturing units stay at 100% and the sales are also lower than 100%.
In my stores, the purchasing unit is also not 100% utilised while the sales is 100%. So I did some testing. I had one purchasing unit linked to my factory for canned corn. The other eight were all sales. The purchasing unit was now being utilised more but still not at 100% while the sales all are 100%. Is this the most efficient store lay out then?